Hats!

I’ve been all over the place this last week, wearing various different hats (though still can’t afford a tiny top hat…).

On Thursday I wore my book hat and hosted a Recommended Read/Travelling Suitcase Library event for World Book Day as part of Ryedale Book Festival. Held at the Old Lodge Hotel in Malton, which is possibly the poshest place I have ever been to (they had individual faceclothes to dry your hands in in the loo…) the evening was delightful, and I met a few local authors (and got some new books!) and also met my Gran’s favourite Jessica Blair, also known as Bill Spence, a genuinely lovely gentleman who gave me a lot of supportive advice.

Me Bill Spence

Then on Saturday I was wearing my Isn’t Leeds Brilliant hat. Love Rouge, my favourite bakery in Headingley, is back open and massive, with an upstairs dining area, and still serving the most delicious cupcakes, as well as breakfasts and a huge range of teas. Although I couldn’t stop for breakfast (which I WILL be doing At Some Point) I did treat myself to some of their delicious cupcakes, including the red velvet and the nutella cupcakes making my kitchen look sexy below.

Cupcakes

Then in the afternoon I volunteered to help out on the tea and cake stall at Left Bank Leeds during another fantastic Steampunk Market, which I always go and spend far too much money in. This year being no exception, I walked away with the cutest purple handbag, two pairs of earrings and a couple of comics. I loved working on the tea stall, and can strongly recommend giving a few hours of your weekend to help a great cause, the more I learn about Left Bank the more I love it. I also got to go in the Vestry, which was a bit of a treat! The tea stall was serving cakes and buns by Murtons Bakery, on Cardigan Road, and I can confirm their jam tarts are spectacular.

Me Left Bank

All in all, a cracking weekend. Mother’s Day is never the happiest of weekends for me and throwing myself into having a Lovely Time made this one my favourite for a while!

Leave a Reply

