Lit Fest Love

So a few months ago now, Leeds got all ansy about the editor of Granta magazine being quoted as saying Leeds was “completely out of the literary world”, which I wrote a post about.

bookmarks

This morning, my basic premise that actually Leeds and Yorkshire in general is amazing for literary events and we should be bloody thankful for that was proved true by the launch of the Ilkley Lit Fest programme, and an email announcing the headline acts for Wakey Lit Fest.

Ilkley this year includes Alexander McCall Smith of the Ladies’ Detective Agency fame, Germaine Greer, Shirley Williams, and Sarah Dunant, whose latest book Blood and Beauty I reviewed a couple of weeks ago and is marvellous.

What I’m most looking forward to, however, is Maggie O’Farrell, on Saturday 5 October. Maggie O’Farrell is the author of bestsellers The Vanishing of Esme Lennox and The Hand That First Held Mine, her latest Instructions for the Heatwave I reviewed for ForBooksSake a while back.

For me, however, she is the woman who wrote the book that made me cry more that anything else other than possibly The Red Tent as a teenager. After You’d Gone is simply a beautiful beautiful piece of writing, includes the best description of a first date ever ever and a relationship that to be honest I’ve been measuring every one in my life to, which is I know a stupid thing to do (it being fictional and all) but read it, and I’m sure you’ll understand. I’m going to meet Maggie O’Farrell and I’m just going to cry in front of her I know it.

And Wakey is just as mint! Tracy Chevalier, whose latest book The Last Runaway I reviewed earlier this year and enjoyed massively, is one of the headliners on the 21 September, which I’m also massively looking forward to. The full programme isn’t being announced until the 19 August, but I’m sure will live up to expectations! I’m also planning a wee book swap and if that’s as wonderful as last year’s I’ll be in for a treat of a night-that was the book swap that saw me discover The Group!

And of course marginally closer to home we’ve got Morley Lit Fest, another of my highlights of the year.

I’m going to be going to see Alison Weir on Sunday 6 October for sure, she’s discovered A Dangerous Inheritance, which is now out in paperback and marvellous.

A very very busy looking September/October  for me AND we’ve got LadyFest on the 19th October. So don’t expect to see much of me outside of a festival until gone half term!

Leave a Reply

