Ilkley Lit Fest Reviews

Over the last month I’ve spent most of my free time on the X84, hurtling between Leeds and Ilkley, in order to attend various events at the Ilkley Lit Fest. As well as the incredible Margaret Atwood, whose MaddAddam trilogy I am currently finishing and will hopefully do a review of very soon, I have reviewed a range of other events for the lovely Pickled Egg blog/online magazine.

My first event was a talk and reading by Tracy Borman, about her new biography of Thomas Cromwell.

I then learnt more about graphic novels and suffragettes with Bryan and Mary Talbot.

My personal highlight of the festival was the wonderful Bonnie Greer in conversation with Rommi Smith.

And I ended the festival with David Starkey.

Some really big names, who I would never have otherwise got a chance to see. I would like to thank the Pickled Egg team for once again inviting me to review for them, I have had a great three weeks of feeling properly cultured, have fallen in love with Yorkshire all over again on my weekly bus rides (though did nearly shed tears when I saw the house prices in Burley in Wharfedale, which I have just drooled over). We have such opportunities for literature and expanding our minds in our region and I feel very privileged to be able to take part in them.

 

Leave a Reply

